Ribbon

A couple of weeks ago our six-year-old was getting her hair done for school as we watched NFL player Michael Bennett being interviewed on TV. Mr. Bennett was describing a recent incident in which he was the victim of police brutality by Vegas police, “ I felt helpless as I lay there on the ground handcuffed facing the real-life threat of being killed. All I could think of was “I’m going to die for no other reason than I am black and my skin color is somehow a threat.” My life flashed before my eyes as I thought of my girls. Would I ever play with them again? Or watch them have kids? Or be able to kiss my wife again and tell her I love her?”

Chloe’s ears perked up during this and she glanced at her sister and then herself. Chloe is fair skinned while her 3-year-old sister Sofia is tanned like me. “Does this mean I have to be extra careful with Sofia if I see the police ?” I wanted to say no while my brain screamed yes but I didn’t trust myself to have that talk right then and there with minutes left before she had to head out to school. Instead with tears in my eyes, I changed the subject by asking her what color bow she wanted in her hair.

That was the incident that inspired this piece.

Leave a Reply

